Why Lens Artifacts?

Why Lens Artifacts you ask.

The truth is, there is no real story behind the decision. There is however a short, meaningless and trivial little tale behind the choice.

My preferred choice of a name for the blog was something to do with ‘clouds’. Clouds are great, in fact, they are a little obsession of mine (but I’ll leave that to the undoubtedly many posts on clouds to come). Unfortunately, every name I could think of to do with clouds was taken, likely by those domain name hoarders. ‘Cumulus’ was taken, and so was ‘Cloudscape’, ‘AzureClouds’ and the like. All the typically sentimental names that are customarily thought of by the new blogger.

Luckily, I was (and still am) in a little phase, one characterised by a strong interest in digital art.

I’ll say it right now, in terms of art on a 2D canvas, I believe digital art is the better medium. Simply because it brings with it functionality that is extremely hard to achieve with traditional media. Undo, redo, filter, blur, layers, infinite brush choices, the list goes on. Moreover, it is fast. No other way of putting it. You can do more with it.

Sure, there’s always the same arguments for traditional media: appeal to tradition, the idea that its mastery somehow commands more effort etc… And I don’t dislike traditional media at all, in all honesty, nothing trumps the charm of a piece, that, through its texture and imperfections, make it an original, and in a sense, authentic. It is the extra layer of polish that is often applied to digital art that is so appealing to me.

But I am so off topic this isn’t even funny, so I’ll cut to the chase. This ‘polish’ has a name: Lens artifacts.

Yeah, see like I said, this name really has nothing to do with anything. I liked it, it sounded catchy, so I stuck with it.

This impromptu post was likely quite boring, but for the readers who have actually made it this far I thank you by digressing again.

This post itself, tells me something about my writing, a problem needing to be addressed. I seem to be always stuck on one of two extremes when it comes to writing. That is, either I oversimplify things, or overcomplicate it, at risk of boring everyone to death in the case of the latter. I should probably strike a balance.

Anyway, look forward to another (probably boring) post on lens artifacts, it’ll be all philosophical and shit.

Good night, yo.

One of many reasons I like clouds.
One of the many reasons I like clouds.

Leave a comment